Spider-Man: Homecoming Set Photos Takeaway: I Want That Backpack

Yesterday Looper, an entertainment website, put up some photos fresh from the set of 2017’s Spider-Man: Homecoming showing actor Tom Holland in his Spider-Man costume.  They’re pretty good, and aside from showing a clearly less-shiny version of Spidey’s costume from Captain America: Civil War, provide a clear glimpse of a backpack presumably used by the character both for high school and hero-ing.

The fact that this is a fairly plain JanSport backpack actually makes me really happy, as whenever I cosplay Spidey at conventions, I usually have had bags that I carry (because hey, gotta keep that spare set of civvies nearby) and fish through when I need something in them.  While I haven’t actually carried one in a few years, I’ve always felt a backpack was an appropriate thing for Spider-Man to carry around.  Clearly writer Brian Michael Bendis and artist Mark Bagley agree with me (or I with them), as Peter Parker from the Ultimate Spider-Man comics also carried around a backpack with some regularity.

I’d also argue that if you’re going to be a masked, anonymous vigilante with superpowers who wants to keep his identity secret yet still carry a backpack, you’re best going with a commonly carried, plain-colored backpack that will be hard to easily identify as belonging to just one individual.  Still, in this day and age of social media, mobile phone cameras, and Instagram, it’s probably not going to throw people off that easily.

In any case, yeah, I now want one of those things.  I’ve actually wanted one for a while, but now even more so.  Maybe not in that color, but definitely for my cosplay purposes at the least.

I can’t wait for 2017 to get here.

Leave a Reply

